Story Thieves Book Review

Title: Story Thieves

Author: James Ridley

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

This story is story starts with a boy named Owen, who one day while sitting in math class notices something different about a classmate, Bethany. She seems to be getting Willy Wonka chocolate from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory while she is reading it. When they start talking, Owen discovers that Bethany can jump into the stories she is reading which shouldn’t be possible. He convinces her to jump into his favorite series “Kiel Gnomefoot”, described as a  Harry Potter knockoff throughout the book. Well bad things of course start to happen because that’s what happens in middle grade fiction. I don’t want to mention too much because I think you need to jump into this story blind.

I thought this story, overall, was good. I enjoyed it enough to continue on with the series. However, this story for about the first half is slow but once you get past that hump the pace of the story really picks up. I found myself rooting for Owen, Bethany, and Kiel and wanting to hurt the Magister and Dr. Verity. The ending wasn’t how I expected and just kind of left off maybe because there is a sequel. I honestly don’t know where the second book is going to go with the plot or the characters. I felt overall, the characters had good development and reacted the way 12 year olds are expected to, which for those who read middle grade often know that sometimes they don’t act age appropriate.

Overall, I would recommend this story to those readers who enjoyed Percy Jackson, The Land of Stories, Narnia and any other stories similar to it. Now for the 2017 Reading Challenge I am going to use it for a couple of the challenges: a story within a story √, a book involving travel √, and the first book in a series you haven’t read before √. If you wanna join me in the 2017 reading challenge I have left the challenges below. As always, Just Keep Reading.

reading-challenge

Leave a Reply

