Inside Out and Back Again Review

Title: Inside Out and Back Again

Author: Thanhha Lai

This story…where to begin. First off, I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars. If you have not read or heard of this book I highly recommend it.

It is about a young Vietnamese girl and her family during the time of the war over there. Her and her family are forced to move to the states and she is heavily ridiculed by the American boys and girls. This story really struck a cord with me. First, it is told in the form of poems. Second, the emotions this book is constantly making you feel are so real and heavy. I won’t say too much so as not to spoil it.

When I first picked it up I thought I wouldn’t like but I was pleasantly surprised. I don’t want to ruin this book for anyone because going in without knowing the full extent of the story helps you feel what the narrator is feeling and to take that from any reader is a travesty.

Any suggestions, recommendations, or questions please leave them in the comments below. And as always Just Keep Reading.

Leave a Reply

