Fablehaven review

I recently read Fablehaven by Brandon Mull. Now let me preface this by saying that I am guilty of judging books by their covers and this book was no exception. If you follow my library hauls you will see that I checked this out from my local library. I go to the library every two weeks with my daughter. I have passed this book over and over because of it’s cover even though I have heard how good this series is. However, over my fall break (I am a high school teacher) I finally decided it was time to pick up Fablehaven.

 

I was not disappointed in the slightest! The world that Brandon Mull created and the magic system behind it was spectacular and I NEED the second book in my possession soon, like today. Now, I will try not to give too many spoilers away. Kendra and Seth are brother and sister and the two main characters. They are sent to live with their grandparents whom they haven’t really had any interaction with. Once there, their grandfather gives them two rules that are strange: Do not go into the woods and do not go into the barn. One day Kendra tries this milk that a helper of the estate lays out for “the bugs” and once that happens she starts to see Fablehaven for what it is…a sanctuary for magical and mystical creatures. From then on her and her brother can see the fairies, sayters, etc. Thats where the problem begins. The only problems I had with Fablehaven was that it was slow getting started and the battle scene at the end wasn’t as intense or long as I was wanting.

This book, and series, I would suggest to any middle grade student or to anyone who loves middle grade fantasy. It is a page turning novel once it gets started. Overall, I give this book 4 out 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

